From health and disability law to the emerging field of regenerative medicine, seventeen McGill scholars named to new or renewed Canada Research Chairs positions across diverse fields 

Seventeen outstanding McGill researchers were appointed today as new and renewed Canada Research Chairs (CRC), one of Canada’s most prestigious academic honours. The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Transport and Quebec Lieutenant, made the announcement on behalf of the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, and the Honourable Mark Holland, Minister of Health, this morning at the Université de Montréal. In total $191 million for science, research, and engineering in support of 230 new and renewed CRCs at 50 Canadian research institutions was announced—including 10 new Chairs and 7 renewed Chairs at McGill. The announcement was part of a suite of national science and research investments.

With the addition of this newest cohort, McGill has 177 active chairholders (Tier 1 and Tier 2). Established in 2000, the CRC Program enables Canadian universities to become world-class research centres in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. To achieve this objective, the Government of Canada awards up to $311 million per year through the CRC program to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising researchers to Canada.

McGill’s new CRCs are leading researchers who are focused on solving some of the most critical issues facing society. Cindy Blackstock of the School of Social Work, newly appointed as CRC in First Nations Child and Family Services Implementation, is an internationally renowned researcher and advocate for First Nations children. She has devoted decades of work to changing the state of First Nations child welfare in Canada.

Simon Tran of the Faculty of Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences, newly appointed as CRC in Craniofacial Tissue Engineering and Stem Cells, is pioneering new understandings in stem cell biology and tissue engineering within the emerging field of regenerative medicine.

Jonas-Sébastien Beaudry of the Faculty of Law, newly appointed as CRC in Health, Inclusion and Ethics, is tackling inequitable practices and policies around health and disability law.

Among the renewed Chairs is Daniela Quail, CRC in the Tumour Microenvironment, whose research program focuses on understanding how chronic inflammation influences the immune response to cancer. Quail is a recipient of the 2023 President’s Prize for Outstanding Emerging Researchers and a corresponding author on two seminal papers published this year in Nature.

“The Government of Canada’s support through the Canada Research Chairs Program paves the way for groundbreaking discoveries at McGill and at other leading research institutions that will improve the quality of life for all Canadians and others around the world,” said Christopher Manfredi, Provost and Vice-President (Academic). “McGill’s new and renewed Canada Research Chairs are exceptional leaders in their fields, whose dedication to research and commitment to mentoring the next cohort is much deserving of these significant appointments.”

There are two types of Canada Research Chairs: Tier 1 Chairs, awarded to outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields, are valued at $200,000 annually for seven years with one opportunity for renewal; Tier 2 Chairs, valued at $120,000 annually for five years and renewable only once at a value of $100,000 annually, are for exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their field.

McGill’s 2022-2 round of CRC recipients: 

Louigi Addario-Berry, Canada Research Chair in Discrete Probability, NSERC, Tier 1 (New)
Noelani Arista, Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Land, Governance and Language, SSHRC, Tier 2 (New)
Jonas-Sébastien Beaudry, Canada Research Chair in Health, Inclusion and Ethics, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
Adelle Blackett, Canada Research Chair in Transnational Labour Law and Development, SSHRC, Tier 1 (Renewal)
Cindy Blackstock, Canada Research Chair in First Nations Child and Family Services Implementation, SSHRC, Tier 1 (New)
Saji George, Canada Research Chair in Sustainable Nanotechnology for Food and Agriculture, NSERC, Tier 2 (Renewal)
Matt Harrington, Canada Research Chair in Green Chemistry, NSERC, Tier 2 (Renewal)
Srividya Iyer, Canada Research Chair in Youth, Mental Health and Learning Health Systems, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
Lawrence Kazak, Canada Research Chair in Adipocyte Biology, CIHR, Tier 2 (Renewal)
Bratislav Misic, Canada Research Chair in Network Neuroscience, NSERC, Tier 2 (Renewal)
Massimiliano Orri, Canada Research Chair in Suicide Prevention, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
Dimitra Panagiotoglou, Canada Research Chair in Economics of Harm Reduction, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
Daniela Quail, Canada Research Chair in the Tumour Microenvironment, CIHR, Tier 2 (Renewal)
Jennifer Ronholm, Canada Research Chair in Agricultural Microbiology, NSERC, Tier 2 (New)
Katelin Schutz, Canada Research Chair in Astrophysics Beyond the Standard Model, NSERC, Tier 2 (New)
Simon Tran, Canada Research Chair in Craniofacial Tissue Engineering and Stem Cells, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
Gustavo Turecki, Canada Research Chair in Major Depressive Disorder and Suicide, CIHR, Tier 1 (Renewal)