Four other members of the McGill community also honoured by Governor General Mary Simon

Dr. Raquel Zegarra del Carpio-O’Donovan, Professor of Radiology, Neurology and Neurosurgery at McGill, has been appointed a Member of the Order of Canada (OOC). Dr. del Carpio-O’Donovan was recognized “for her leadership as an esteemed neuroradiologist and for her mentorship of a generation of radiologists around the globe.”

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada announced a total of 78 new appointees to the OOC on December 28. Alongside Dr. del Carpio-O’Donovan, four other members of the McGill community were among those appointed to, or promoted within, the Order: Sara Joy Angel, BA’92; Antonio Ariganello, BCom’80; Jeffrey Mark Farber, BSc’75; and Dr. Francine Lemire, MDCM’76.  See below for more information about these inspiring McGillians.

The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest honours. It recognizes people across all sectors of society who have made extraordinary and sustained contributions to our nation.

“I greatly value the opportunity to celebrate individuals whose perseverance, ingenuity and community spirit have benefited Canadians throughout the country. As Governor General, I have seen first-hand that our communities are rich in both excellence and diversity, which we need to do our utmost to recognize,” said the Governor General in a statement. “I encourage each of us to become catalysts for the change we want to see in the Canadian Honours System by nominating individuals whose exceptional accomplishments may have gone unrecognized through the years.”

The Governor General will present Dr. del Carpio-O’Donovan and the other honourees with their insignia at an investiture ceremony at a date to be announced.

Dedicated teacher and mentor

Dr. Raquel del Carpio-O’Donovan

A full-time neuroradiologist at the MUHC, Dr. del Carpio-O’Donovan is a dedicated teacher and mentor. Her distinguished career includes a major role in the development of the Radiology Resident Program at McGill hospitals in her capacity as associate chief of MUHC Radiology and vice chair of the McGill Radiology Department, as well as chief radiologist at the Montreal General Hospital.

Dr. del Carpio-O’Donovan has travelled to at least 30 countries as an international lecturer on behalf of world-renowned radiology organizations, including the Radiological Society of North America. She has also participated in education programs in developing countries representing among others, the American Society of Neuroradiology.

In 2013, Dr. del Carpio-O’Donovan received the Quebec Medical Association’s Teaching Award. In 2016, she was awarded the Canadian Association of Radiologists Gold Medal for achievements throughout her career and in 2017, the Societé de Radiologie du Québec honoured her with its highest distinction, the Prix Albert Jutras. She is also a recipient of the YWCA of Montreal Women of Distinction Award and her efforts to help radiologists from emerging countries earned her an award as one of the ten most influential Hispanic persons in Canada. In 2022, she was elected Honorary President by the World Federation of Neuroradiological Societies in recognition of her substantial contributions to Neuroradiology at the international level.

Four other inspiring McGillians join the Order

Along with Dr. del Carpio-O’Donovan, four other members of the McGill family were among those appointed to, or promoted within, the Order of Canada on December 28:

Sara Joy Angel (Member)

OC citation: For her significant contributions to Canadian art history as a visual arts journalist and founder of the Art Canada Institute.

Sara Angel is the Founder and Executive Director of the Art Canada Institute/Institut de l’art canadien, a research organization based at Massey College at the University of Toronto, dedicated to the education and promotion of Canadian art history. Angel is also one of the country’s leading visual arts journalists.

Antonio Ariganello (Member)

OC citation: For advancing national practices and standards in the accounting and human resources professions as a leading financial executive.

Antonio Ariganello is President and CEO of the Chartered Professionals of Human Resources (CPHR) of BC and the Yukon, and CPHR Canada. He is also the President of the World Federation of People Management Associations.

Jeffrey Mark Farber (Member)

OC citation: For his significant contributions to improving food safety both within Canada and worldwide.

Farber is well known in the field of Listeria research and policy development, both nationally and internationally. He worked at Health Canada for a number of years, as a research scientist, Research Division Chief, Associate Director and then Director of microbial food safety. He has played a large role in developing many of the food safety policies that are currently in place in Health Canada.

Dr. Francine Lemire (Member)

OC citation: For her accomplishments as a Paralympic medallist in cross-country skiing and for her exemplary leadership in family medicine.

Dr. Francine Lemire represented Canada at the 1984 Winter Paralympics and again at the 1988 Winter Paralympics where she won two gold medals. Dr. Lemire has worked in family medicine for more than 25 years. As executive director and CEO of the College of Family Physicians of Canada she helped to shape the delivery of family medicine on a pan-Canadian scale.