On September 9, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) announced 90 new Fellows, including four McGill researchers and scholars, two of whom represent the Faculty of Medicine. Dr. Peter S. McPherson and Dr. Constantin Polychronakos will be inducted to the RSC on Saturday, November 22 at the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City. They join the more than 150 McGill-affiliated Fellows inducted since 1966.

Dr. Peter S. McPherson (Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery and the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology) is a James McGill Professor and former fellow of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation at the Montreal Neurological Institute. Dr. McPherson has made fundamental discoveries underlying the cellular and molecular basis of neurodegenerative diseases. His discoveries of the key proteins operating in clathrin-mediated endocytosis have opened a new research field, the molecular machineries for membrane trafficking.
Dr. Constantin Polychronakos (Department of Pediatrics) is nominated for his work in the genetics of diabetes. As one of the first researchers to use the power of high-resolution genotyping arrays, he discovered genetic variants that predispose to diabetes. Additionally, he pioneered the study of thymic expression of tissue-specific antigens. The discoveries contribute substantially to our understanding of immune self-tolerance and the genetic contribution to common diseases.

Established in 1882, the RSC is the senior national body of distinguished Canadian scholars, artists and scientists. The RSC consists of nearly 2,000 Fellows selected by their peers for outstanding contributions to the natural and social sciences, arts and humanities. As Canada’s national academy, the RSC not only recognizes academic excellence, but it also advises governments and organizations, and promotes Canadian culture.

The 2014 McGill Fellows are pursuing scholarship and research in climate variability and change, human disease, and the mathematical sciences.

Read more in the McGill Reporter.

To view a complete list of newly elected Fellows and their nomination citations, click here.