Michael Ya, a nurse at the Point de service Outremont (CIUSSS de Centre-ouest de l’île de Montréal), was one of 37 nurses recognized for excellence in preceptorship and clinical supervision at a virtual ceremony held last fall.

In the fall of 2023, a record number of 37 nurses, preceptors, advisors and clinical supervisors received the Ingram School of Nursing (ISoN) Awards of Excellence in Clinical Supervision and Preceptorship. Every year, awardees are recognized for their stellar efforts in advancing the School’s teaching mission by mentoring nursing students and providing them with challenging and rewarding learning experiences.

Selected by ISoN faculty and students, award recipients are clinically based individuals who act as positive role models, demonstrate excellence in teaching, provide a supportive learning environment, and encourage students to achieve their personal best.

Michael Ya, a nurse at the Point de service Outremont (CIUSSS de Centre-ouest de l’île de Montréal), is one such role model. According to one of the students who nominated Mr. Ya, “Michael’s genuine passion for nursing education was evident every day as he made it a priority to ensure that I learned something new during our clinical experiences. His dedication went beyond merely imparting knowledge; he constantly tested my understanding to ensure I retained the information effectively. This approach not only enhanced my learning experience but also reinforced key concepts, making them more memorable and applicable in real-life situations. One of the most remarkable aspects of Michael’s preceptorship was his vast knowledge in the field of community health nursing. He generously shared his expertise, empowering me to become more autonomous in my practice.”

The 2023 winners were celebrated at a virtual recognition event held at the end of October and hosted by Clinical Partnerships Office (CPO) Director​ Gina S. Costanzo, RN, eMBA​, and CPO Senior Academic Associate​ Louise Murray, RN, MScN​. ISoN faculty were on hand to say a few words of welcome and to announce the awardees in each category. Winners represented a wide variety of healthcare institutions in Quebec, mostly in the Greater Montreal Area, but also from the Eastern Townships, the Montérégie and the Outaouais region. They were joined at the virtual ceremony by leadership from their respective clinical sites.

After the event, honourees received a “swag bag” containing their award certificate as well as ISoN branded gifts. In addition, three lucky winners drawn at random each received an iPad.

Congratulations to all the awardees!


Jill Tom – Mont Sinai Hospital

Catherine Marceau – CHUM

Maxime Girardet – CHUM

Gerard Rousseau – CLSC Bordeau Cartierville

Linda Celestin – CLSC Côte-des-Neiges

Emily Beerworth – CLSC de Cowansville

François Certosini – CLSC Pierrefonds

Monika Poidinger – CLSC SAPA SAD Cote des Neiges

Marie-Josée Chenard – CLSC Varennes

Marie-Andrée Malette – CLSC-DSAPA – SI – Secteur Hull-Aylmer

Michael Ya – CLSC Point de Service Outremont

Nilofer Chamadia – CSSS RI de la Montagne

Israa Babin – Montreal Children’s Hospital

Marie Tonkin – St-Henri CLSC


Brandon Ignacz – Jewish General Hospital

Mathieu Raymond-Tremblay – MUHC Neuro

Tina Kusaian – Royal Victoria Hospital – MUHC

Sophie Lacoste – Montreal Children’s Hospital

Critical Care

Nathalie Mosaurieta – Institut de Cardiologie

Zaki Omri – Institut de Cardiologie

Mark Lester Buncad – Jewish Genreal Hospital

Danoucheka Duvil – Sacre Coeur

Siwar Dabbabi – Sacre Coeur

Laurence Bureau – CHU St Justine

Knowledge Translation

Shannon Burns – Montreal Children’s Hospital

Sarah Shea – Montreal Children’s Hospital

Nadine Vandal – Montreal Children’s Hospital

Janet Rennick – Montreal Children’s Hospital

Stephanie Avery – Montreal Children’s Hospital

Vanessa Sam – Montreal Children’s Hospital


Elmira Gusseva – St. Mary’s Hospital

Marjorie Cosep – St. Mary’s Hospital

Cristita Nicolas – Montreal General Hospital

Nurse Practitioner

Léa Carle-Hébert – Jewish General Hospital

Jory Ryan – Jewish General Hospital

Jacqueline Bocking – Jewish General Hospital

Marie Josée Beaulieu – Shriners Hospitals for Children