By Monica Slanik, School of Physical & Occupational Therapy

Each year, the McGill University Faculty of Medicine’s School of Physical & Occupational Therapy (SPOT) commemorates the Health Sciences Convocation with a Strawberries & Champagne Awards Reception, celebrating the School’s graduates at the BSc, Masters and PhD levels. This year over 26 awards, prizes and fellowships were handed out during the reception (see the complete list below, group photo of all recipients above).

Full list of SPOT award winners:

Judith Kornbluth Gelfand Paediatric Fellowship:    Marie-Eve Bolduc

Barbara Rosenthal Prize: Anne-Marie Levesque

Kavita Kulkarni Memorial Prize in Rehabilitation Science: Stephania Palimeris

Margherita Rapagna Memorial Prize in Rehabilitation Science: Catherine Demers

Dr. Beverlea Tallant Occupational Therapy in Mental Health Research Award: Stephanie Tremblay

Dr. Alice Chan Yip Multiculturalism Award: Tayseer Verican

Richard and Edith Strauss Fellowships: Jaqueline Roberge-Dao, Caroline Elfassy and Elianne Dionne

Gevorg Chilingaryan Award of Excellence: Marika Demers

Gloria Gilbert Chronic Pain Award: Daniel Flegg

Helen M. Gault Award (OT): Jaclyn Stevenson

Helen M. Gault Award(PT): Pavitha Selvarajah

Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists’ Award: Miranda Giambra

Edith Aston-McCrimmon Professional Award (OT): Liam Bienstock

Edith Aston-McCrimmon Professional Award (PT): Orville Li

Nicol Korner-Bitensky Altruism Award: Julianne Brown

Nicol Korner-Bitensky Altruism Award: Alicia Allen

Carol Rutenberg-Silver Memorial Award: Mireille Hakim Algharib

Sandra Perlamn Memorial Prize: Jenna Sarjeant

L’Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec (OPPQ) Clinical Prize: Rabia Mirza

Canadian Physiotherapy Association Award: Charlie Fougères

Canadian Physiotherapy Association Leadership Award: Zachary Weber

L’Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec Award Clinical Prize of Excellence: Dina Lepiane

Canadian Occupational Therapy Foundation-Future Scholar Award: William MacCaul, Veronika Svistkova, Angelique Tran, and Sevia Raelson

Canadian Academy of Manipulative Physical Therapists (CAMPT) Award: Catherine St-Pierre

SPOT Alumni Fund Travel Award (OT): Melissa Lamble, Hannah Wooley, and shared between Sevia Raelson & Veronika Svistkova

SPOT Alumni Fund Travel Award (PT): Alexandra Leclerc-Valade  

Congratulations to all!

 Details of awards can be found here:

Photos of all recipients can be found here after June 6th:


May 31, 2019