On May 16, the McGill community gathered at the Faculty Club to celebrate innovation at the Seventh Annual McGill Clinical Innovation Competition (CLIC) and Awards Ceremony (our photo gallery from the event is below). Inspired by founding donor, McGill alumnus Raymond Hakim, MDCM’76, the competition was created to encourage members of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS) to conceive and develop promising ideas that will have a direct and positive impact on healthcare. An annual event, CLIC is open to all eligible members of the FMHS to apply with their health-focused innovative ideas and proposals. We’re pleased to announce that, courtesy of the McGill Departments of Paediatrics and Paediatric Surgery, two Pediatrics Clinical Innovation Prizes were added to the competition this year, making it even more special. 

In her opening remarks, Lesley Fellows, MDCM, DPhil, Vice-President (Health Affairs) and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS), emphasized the importance of clinical innovation and collaboration to the Faculty and to patient care. She spoke to the fact that CLIC is the perfect platform for students and trainees to jumpstart their ideas, transforming ideas into tangible tools and devices at a rapid pace. Gerald Fried, MDCM, Associate Dean, Education Technology and Innovation and Director of the Steinberg Centre for Simulation and Interactive Learning, provided an overview of the event, while founding donor Raymond Hakim, MDCM, and Charles Posternack, MDCM, Chief Executive Officer at Avulux, offered words of welcome. Following pitches from the finalists, six outstanding winning teams were selected.   


And the winners are…. 


Hakim Family Innovation Prize: Capcyte Biotherapeutics

  • Marc-Antoine Campeau, Chemical Engineering, McGill University 
  • Hugo Level, Chemical Engineering, McGill University 
  • Corinne Hoesli, Chemical Engineering, McGill University 


First Marika Zelenka Roy Innovation Prize: UNICORN BY ENTobot Inc. 

  • Salar Taki, Research Assistant, Surgical Performance Enhancement and Robotics (SuPER) Centre, RI-MUHC 
  • Amir Hooshiar, Assistant professor and Director of Surgical Performance Enhancement and Robotics (SuPER) Centre, McGill University 
  • Amir Sayadi, Ph.D. Student, Experimental Surgery, McGill University 
  • Renzo Cecere, MD Cecere, Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, McGill University 
  • Nader Sadeghi, Professor, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, McGill University 
  • Camille Caron, Medical Liaison, ENTobot Inc. 


Second Marika Zelenka Roy Simnovation Prize: Precare

  • Raphael Gotlieb, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) 
  • Gabriel Schnitman, Chief Scientific Officer 

Bereskin & Parr Innovation Prize: OsteobotiX Inc.

  • Hamidreza Khodashenas, Research Assistant, Research Institute of McGill University Health Centre(RI-MUHC) 
  • Amir Hooshiar, Assistant Professor, Director of Surgical Performance Enhancement and Robotics (SuPER) Centre, Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, McGill University 
  • Dr. Gregory Berry, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, McGill University 
  • Dr. Rudy Reindl, Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgeon, McGill University 
  • Dr. Alexandra Bunting, Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgeon, Department of Surgery, McGill University 

Pediatrics Clinical Innovation Prizes: Breaking Bone

  • Géraldine Merle, Professor, Chemical engineering, Polytechnique/McGill department of Surgery, 
  • Dr. Marie-Lyne Nault, Orthopaedic surgeon, Surgery, University of Montreal/(adjunct) Surgery, 
  • Daria C. Boffito , Chemical engineering, Polytechnique 


Pediatrics Clinical Innovation Prizes: PercuTech 3D

  • Amir Hooshiar, McGill Department of Surgery 
  • Houman Savoji, Centre de Recherce du CHU Sainte-Justine 
  • Renzo Cecere, MD Cecere, McGill Department of Surgery 


Thank you, judges! 

An extraordinary panel of CLIC judges from academia and industry, representing a wide range of expertise, were involved in both the preliminary judging process and selecting the top teams at the event. Thank you to our judges: Nadine B. Afari, Dr Raymond Hakim, Gilbert Tordjman, Charles Posternack, Danny Minogue, Dan Roden, Steve Arless, Carmela DeLuca, Thomas Fevens, Brent Norton, Dr. Krystle Karoscik, Fabio Botelho, Farhan Bhanji, Dan Poenaru and Gerald Fried.  


CLIC moments 

Please click on any of the photos below to launch a slideshow of moments from this year’s CLIC. (Photos by Owen Egan and Joni Dufour)