From left to right: Anna Lee, VP-Dean David Eidelman, Johanne Bourdon and Thomas Mills. (Photo: Owen Egan)

On Thursday, September 27, the 2018 edition of the Ovation Awards was held in Holmes Hall, honouring the year’s winners of the Dean of Medicine Awards of Excellence, meant to applaud the outstanding contributions of permanent administrative support staff and technicians from across the Faculty and its Schools. The awards recognize high performance, above and beyond expectations, creative problem-solving, initiative, dedication, motivation and contribution to morale of Faculty staff classified as Clerical (C), Technical (T) or Management (M) with three awards.

The Priyabrata “PB” Mukhopadhyay Award, for the T classification, was given to Johanne Bourdon, Course Technician at the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy; the Anne McCormick Award, for the M classification was presented to Anna Lee, Curriculum Administrator for Undergraduate Medical Education; and the Pamela Chase Award, for the C classification was given to Thomas Mills, Senior Administrator and Student Affairs Coordinator at the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy.

“Our administration teams are the backbone of the Faculty of Medicine, its departments and schools. We could not achieve what we achieve without your commitment,”noted Dr. David Eidelman, Vice-Principal (Health Affairs) and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, who served as host of the ceremony. “The three Faculty members we are recognizing today personify excellence in administration.”

“I am touched to have been nominated and very proud to be chosen for this award,” said Johanne Bourdon. “I am privileged to be part of McGill’s School of Physical and Occupational Therapy and grateful to be in an environment that promotes wellbeing in the workplace.”

Congratulations Johanne, Anna and Thomas!

*All photos Owen Egan

September 28, 2018