Filmmakers, lawyers, doctors – even a former television Dragon – are among 11 members of the McGill community who have been appointed to the Order of Canada

By Neale McDevitt, Editor, McGill Reporter

Filmmakers, lawyers, doctors – even a former television Dragon – were among the 11 members of the McGill community who were appointed to the Order of Canada, as announced on June 27, by Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette (BEng’86, DSc’03), Governor General of Canada.  Among these, the Faculty of Medicine is represented by three new members of the Order of Canada.

In total, 83 new appointments were announced.

Since its founding in 1967, close to 7,000 people from across the country have been named to the Order, which recognizes Canadians who have distinguished themselves in their fields or contributed to making Canada a better country. The Governor General’s webpage says the Order “honours people whose service shapes our society; whose innovations ignite our imaginations; and whose compassion unites our communities.”

Appointments are made for sustained achievement at three levels: Companion, which recognizes national pre-eminence or international service or achievement; Officer which recognizes national service or achievement; and Member which recognizes outstanding contributions at the local or regional level or in a special field of activity. Officers and Members may be elevated within the Order in recognition of further achievement, based on continued exceptional or extraordinary service to Canada.

Four members of Faculty of Medicine community were named Members of the Order of Canada:

  • Renaldo Battista, an expert in health technology assessment, health services and clinical epidemiology. He has been named to the Order for “his pivotal role in the revitalization of provincial and national public health.” Dr. Battista was a professor in the Departments of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and of Medicine at McGill from 1982 – 2003.
  • Joseph Raymond Buncic, a clinical neuro-ophthalmologist. Buncic is being honoured for “his pioneering contributions to the field of pediatric neuro-ophthalmology, notably through his mentorship of multiple generations of pediatric eye specialists.” Buncic graduated from McGill in 1965 with a Medicinae Doctor et Chirurgiae Magister (Doctor of Medicine and Master of Surgery)
  • Hanna Maria Pappius, a pioneering neurochemist. Pappius was a trail-blazing neurochemist at the Montreal Neurological Institute for more than fifty years, specializing in cerebral edema and the effect of brain injury on neurotransmitter and receptor mechanisms. Pappius is honoured for “her contributions to neurochemistry as a researcher and professor at the Montreal Neurological Institute.” Dr. Hanna Pappius is an Emerita Professor at McGill and a retired neurochemist at the Montreal Neurological Institute, where she worked for more than 50 years.
  • Mitch Garber, entrepreneur and philanthropist. Beginning his career as a radio sportscaster, Garber is a former television Dragon and current Chairman of both the Canadian federal agency Invest in Canada as well as Cirque du Soleil. Garber his honoured “for his contributions as an innovative entrepreneur, and for his active governance and philanthropic commitment to education, health and culture.” Garber earned his Bachelor of Arts from McGill in 1986. He has also served as member and Chair of the Faculty of Medicine Advisory Board and is a staunch supporter of the Faculty.

Congratulations to all those honoured!


July 3 2019