Five exceptional members of the McGill Faculty of Medicine have been named to the Faculty Honour List for Educational Excellence for 2012-2013. The annual list recognizes outstanding contributions to education in the areas of teaching, educational leadership and innovation, faculty development, and research and scholarly activity.

This year’s recipients are: Evelyn Constantin (Pediatrics), Paola Fata (Surgery), Tom A. Hutchinson (Medicine), Preetha Krishnamoorthy (Pediatrics), and Aliki Thomas (Physical & Occupational Therapy). All of these individuals have promoted educational excellence and have been recognized for their energy, dedication and contribution to medical education at McGill.

The five faculty members were honoured at the annual Symposium on Education in the Health Sciences scheduled on June 14 at the Jonathan C. Meakins Amphitheatre in the McIntyre Medical Building. The symposium included presentations by a number of the honourees, were asked to discuss their areas of interest, leadership, or innovation in education. They were also recognized at a reception following the symposium.

Individuals who have been faculty members for at least five years can be nominated to the Honour List by their peers, students, divisional chief or departmental chair. A faculty committee, appointed by the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, selects Honour List recipients according to one or more of the following criteria: outstanding teaching on a sustained basis; significant involvement in an educational activity for at least three years; demonstration of a scholarly approach to teaching and education; active involvement in faculty development activities; and demonstration of leadership and innovation in medical education.

April 19, 2012