The Canadian Cardiovascular Society (CCS) Awards are granted for excellence in research, teaching, exemplary care, prevention of cardiovascular diseases and overall career contribution.

This year, Dr. Ernesto Schiffrin, Professor and Vice-Chair (Research) of the Department of Medicine at McGill University, Physician-in-Chief in the Department of Medicine at the Jewish General Hospital and the Canada Research Chair in Hypertension and Vascular Research at the Lady Davis Institute, is the winner of the Research Achievement Award.

The Research Achievement Award was created in 1982 in recognition of research excellence. The acknowledgement is offered to an established investigator working on an aspect of cardiovascular research in Canada.

These awards of excellence are presented annually at the CCS Awards Ceremony held during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

To learn more about the awards, click here.

To view the list of past recipients, click here.

October 8, 2013