The Department of Medicine, the largest department in the McGill Faculty of Medicine, clinically encompassing most of the non-surgical disciplines, and supporting a large, dynamic academic program of education and research. Our mission is excellence through leadership in our three domains: education, research and clinical care.

It’s members are based at McGill’s major teaching hospitals – the McGill University Hospital Centre (MUHC) and the Jewish General Hospital (JGH). Members of the Department can also be found at St. Mary’s Hospital, the Douglas Hospital and on the McGill campus. With more than 450 full-time clinical and research faculty, the Department of Medicine is subdivided into 13 University Divisions. In addition, Department members can be found in eight hospital divisions that are exclusive to the MUHC, as well as in a number of specialized units and centres found at the MUHC, the JGH and across the campus. The full-time faculty is augmented by another 235 part-time, associate, emeritus and adjunct members.

Dept of MedicineVital Signs – Department of Medicine Newsletter – September 2014