The Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) recently recognized eight leaders in the health sciences from McGill as elected CAHS Fellows, one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community. Elections are based on a nominating and peer review process that seeks to recognize those who are marked by a record of substantial accomplishment. The newly elected Fellows from McGill are:
Dr. Paul Allison, Dean, McGill’s Faculty of Dentistry and Associate Member, Dept. of Oncology.
Dr. Gerald Batist, Director of McGill’s Centre for Translational Research in Cancer; Professor, Depts. of Medicine and Oncology; Director, Segal Cancer Centre, Jewish General Hospital.
Dr. Gerald Fried, Chair of the Dept. of Surgery; Director of the McGill Minimally Invasive Surgery Program; Professor, Dept. of Surgery.
Dr. Jacques Genest, Director of the Centre for Innovative Medicine at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (RI-MUHC); Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology.
Dr. Richard I. Levin, Former Vice-Principal Health Affairs and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at McGill; Professor, Dept. of Medicine, Division of Cardiology.
Dr. Joaquin Madrenas, Chair of the Dept. of Microbiology and Immunology; Professor, Dept. of Microbiology and Immunology.
Dr. Vassilios Papadopoulos; Director, Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (RI-MUHC); Professor, Dept. of Medicine.
Dr. Gilles Paradis, Professor, Dept. of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health; Associate Director for Population Health and Preventive Medicine, RI-MUHC.

Fellows are elected to the Academy based on their contributions to the promotion of health science while demonstrating leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and a commitment to advance academic health science. Election to Fellowship carries with it a covenant to serve the Academy and the future well being of the health sciences irrespective of the Fellow’s specific discipline.

CAHS is Canada’s first national advisory body of healthcare leaders and researchers from across the country. For more information, including a complete list of Fellows, please visit: