It is once again time to submit nominations for the Maude Abbott and Haile T. Debas prizes. The Maude Abbott Prize was established in 2010 by the Faculty of Medicine in order to recognise outstanding female faculty members who excel in Education, Research or Administration with a focus at the early career stage. The Haile T. Debas Prize, also created in 2010, recognises a faculty member of any gender or ethnicity who helps to promote diversity.

Please take special note that in order to facilitate fair comparison of nominees, the Maude Abbott Prize will now be issued with a special focus each year, with the 2019 focus being teaching. This and other details regarding eligibility for the prizes, as well as information on the nomination procedures may be found at the following links:

Please note that the deadline for submission of nominations is Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. and nomination packages should be forwarded to


February 20, 2019