The McGill Alumni Association (MAA) is pleased to present the recipients of the MAA Honours and Awards for 2021.

Our honorees stand out for their impressive contributions and achievements in service of McGill, the MAA and in their respective communities. We applaud their efforts and celebrate them during Bicentennial At-Home Homecoming 2021 – a momentous time at McGill as the University marks its 200th anniversary and begins its third century.

With McGill’s focus on the safe resumption of in-person academic activities this fall, the MAA’s signature awards banquet is being transformed into a special video celebration to be aired on Thursday, September 30, at 5:30 p.m. (EDT) to honour the graduates, students and friends of McGill who carry on the MAA’s proud tradition of service to the University and the community.

Tune in online to watch this special ceremony – we know you’ll be moved and inspired by this year’s MAA award winners!



Award of Merit

Margaret A. Gilliam, BSc’59

Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Richard Walls, PhD’78, DSc’13, and Carolina Walls, BSc’85, DSc’13

D. Lorne Gales Special Recognition Award

Robert Fetherstonhaugh, BCom’78, DPA’80

E.P. Taylor Award

Anthony Fata, BCL/LLB’90

Catherine Nance Common President of the Year Award

Founders of the McGill Black Alumni Association:

Marilyn Naana Ahun, BA’15

Christelle Dossa, BA’15

Laura Germain, BEng’15, MBA’21

Samra Lakew, BEng’14

Sandrine Ntibarigobeka, BA’16

Alumni Event of the Year Award

Celebrating McGill Muslim Alumni (McGill Muslim Alumni Society)

Charles H. Peters Alumni Group of the Year Award

Macdonald Agriculture and Home Economics Class of 1951

Robert Fung International Award of Distinction

Alex Banh, BCom’93

James G. Wright Award

Annamaria Enenajor, BCL/LLB’12

Honorary Life Membership Award

Dr. Balfour Mount, OC, OQ

Gretta Chambers Student Leadership Award

Khadija Ahmed, BCL/JD in progress

Jessica Ford, BSc’17, PhD in progress

Tia Lore, BA’20

Leïlah Yadia Kelly Sory, BEng’21

Joyce Wu, BSc’21

David Johnston Faculty and Staff Award

Dr. Anita Nowak, BCom’97, PhD’11

Honora Shaughnessy McGill Ambassador Award

Claire Webster