Photo credit: Owen Egan

Dr. Ann Macaulay has been awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award in Family Medicine Research from the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC). These awards honour individuals who are our trailblazers and leaders in family medicine research, and who have made a significant contribution to family medicine research during their career.  These awards give public recognition to their work and to the discipline of family medicine.

Ann C. Macaulay CM, MD, FCFP is a Professor of Family Medicine at McGill University and Inaugural Director of Participatory Research at McGill whose mission is to promote all forms of participatory research, and contribute to the academic understanding of this approach to research. She received the Wood Award (2009) for Lifetime Contribution to Primary Care Research, was named College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) Family Medicine Researcher of the Year (2008) for contributions to participatory research, received the Order of Canada (2006) for contributions to Aboriginal Health, is a foreign member of the Institute of Medicine USA (2005), and Advisory Board Member, Institute of Aboriginal Peoples Health, Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Dr. Macaulay has practiced community based medicine since 1969 and has been engaged in community-based participatory research since 1994.

For more information about the CFPC and its 2011 awards and distinctions, visit their website.