signature_red with MEDICINE_horiz_eng_outlined

Dear Colleagues,

As you may be aware, the Faculty of Medicine is launching a new administrative model aimed to offer departments a team of specialists in the fields of academic affairs, human resources and finance (including financial management support for grants / awards). The initiative – Administration Excellence Centres (AECs) – is the outcome of benchmarking, best practices and Faculty consultations, as well as a successful pilot project launched in 2012, where the first AEC is currently servicing three departments: Psychiatry, Ophthalmology and Neurology & Neurosurgery.

Based on the positive results of the pilot AEC, the Faculty has rolled out the AEC model to nine additional departments, identified below. While the overall AEC launch and project is the responsibility of the Faculty’s Senior Project Director – Finance and Administration, Ms. Gracy Pardillo, each AEC is led by an Associate Director, who oversees a number of responsibilities, such as strategic collaboration with Chairs and supervision of local administrative staff.  AEC team size, composition and working location are customized based on the needs of each group.

With this rollout, it is our pleasure to announce the following new AEC appointments. We also take this opportunity to introduce the current team members of the first AEC:

Serving the Departments of:
Neurology and Neurosurgery, Ophthalmology, and Psychiatry

Anna Maria Henderson – Associate Director: Ext. 7797

Melanie Pepin – Financial Officer: Ext.  3247

Marie Isabel Ramirez – Financial Administrator: Ext.  7296

Preeya Bissoonauth – HR Advisor: Ext. 5466

Manon Trudeau – HR Administrator: Ext.  2673

Jackie Krebs – Accounts Administrator: Ext.  8768

Serving the Departments of:
Anatomy and Cell Biology, Biomedical Engineering, and Microbiology and Immunology

Maria Babiak – Associate Director: Ext. 4442

Sandra Botbol – Financial Officer: Ext. 7217

Rachel Schafts – HR Advisor: Ext. 8496

Inna Roo – HR Administrator: Ext. 2855

Serving the following Centres, Units and Departments:
Aids Centre, Biomedical Ethics, Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health,
Global Health, Institute for Health & Social Policy, and Social Studies of Medicine

Tasha Ayinde – Associate Director: Ext. 3105

John Kuchyna – Financial Officer: Ext. 2022

Laurie Tesseris – HR Administrator: Ext. 6263

Adele Tarantino – General Administrator: Ext. 6034

Under this new structure, the Associate Directors will report to Ms. Pardillo. Gracy is part of the Dean’s Office team and can be reached at extension 2885.

There will be a period of training and transition for these AEC teams over the coming weeks, and we thank you in advance for your support throughout. For all matters related to Academic Affairs, HR or Finance within the above-mentioned departments, please contact these specialists.

The Faculty is preparing for the launch of two more AECs early in 2014, with additional Centres coming on board as budgets allow. Ms. Pardillo will contact the Chairs and Directors of departments and units at the appropriate time to discuss the composition of the Centres and to develop a transition model.

Please join me in wishing our AEC colleagues a smooth transition and success in delivering administrative excellence.

Best Regards,

Pascale Mongrain, CPA-CA, Lawyer

Senior Director, Administration and Operations

Health Affairs

Faculty of Medicine

October 15, 2013