FACULTY HONOUR LIST

FOR EDUCATIONAL EXCELLENCE

2020 - 2021

A Faculty of Medicine program since 1998.



Education in the Faculty of Medicine at McGill University covers a wide spectrum of activity, from undergraduate education to graduate, post-graduate and continuing professional education. The goal of this program is to recognize outstanding contributions to education in the Faculty of Medicine.

PROGRAM COMPONENTS

This program consists of the following components:

- The candidate is named to the Faculty Honour List for Educational Excellence.
- The candidate's achievements are celebrated at the Faculty Honour List Symposium.

Faculty Honour List for Educational Excellence

The goal of the program is to recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in the area of health sciences education and whose contributions have had a significant and noteworthy impact.

Achievements in all of the following areas will be recognized:

- Teaching
- Educational Leadership and Innovation
- Faculty Development
- Research and Scholarly Activity in Education

Faculty Honour List Symposium

All individuals named to the Faculty Honour List will be invited to attend the Symposium, which is held in the Spring of each year. This symposium will include presentations by the honourees, who will be asked to discuss their areas of interest, leadership, or innovation in education. All individuals will be honoured at a reception following the symposium.



NOMINATING PROCESS

Individuals who have been faculty members for <u>at least five years</u> can be nominated to the Faculty Honour List by their peers, students, or supervisors.

A faculty committee, appointed by the Dean, will select the honourees according to the following elements:

- Outstanding teaching on a sustained basis
- Significant involvement in an educational activity for at least three years
- Demonstration of a scholarly approach to teaching and education
- Active involvement in faculty development activities
- Demonstration of leadership and innovation in medical education

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

Please complete & submit the following nomination form (<u>click here</u>) with the listed supporting documents to the Faculty Development Office before **January 31**, **2020**.

Only packages using one of the following 2 file formats will be accepted:

- 1) Compressed (zipped) folder
- 2) Adobe PDF Portfolio.

Please ensure that your documents are clearly labeled.

Honorees will be notified of the Committee's decision by the end of April 2020. The annual Faculty Honour List Symposium will be held on **June 11, 2020**.

CONTACT DETAILS

To submit a nomination, or for further information about this program, please contact:

Faculty Development Office, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University, Lady Meredith House, Room 103 1110 Pine Avenue West, Montreal, QC H3A 1A3

Tel: (514) 398-2698; Fax: (514) 398-6649 E-mail: facdev-events.med@mcgill.ca Website: www.mcgill.ca/medicinefacdev



Previous Recipients of the Faculty Honour List for Educational Excellence



2019 - 2020

Fanny Hersson Edery (Family Medicine) Matthew Hunt (School of Physical and Occupational Therapy) Heather C. Lambert (School of Physical and Occupational Therapy) Sender Liberman (Surgery) Stuart Lubarsky (Neurology & Neurosurgery)
Jean Ouellet (Surgery) Sophie Vaillancourt (School of Communication Sciences and Disorders)
Isabelle Vedel (Family Medicine) Kevin Waschke (Medicine)

2018 - 2019

Armand Aalamian (Family Medicine) Mirko S. Gilardino (Plastic Surgery) Samantha Gruenheid (Microbiology and Immunology) Audrey Juras (Family Medicine) Bernadette Nedelec (School of Physical and Occupational Therapy) Geoffroy Noël (Anatomy and Cell Biology)
Kelly Root (School of Communication Sciences and Disorders)
Mark Smilovitch (Medicine)

2017-2018

Ilana Bank (Pediatrics) Mark Karanofsky (Family Medicine) William Parker (Medical Physics) Mathieu Walker (Medicine)

2016-2017

Nicolas Cermakian (Psychiatry) Beth-Ann Cummings (Medicine) Elaine Davis (Anatomy & Cell Biology) Liane Feldman (Surgery)
Stephen Liben (Pediatrics)
Richard Preuss (Physical & Occupational Therapy) Lia Sanzone (Nursing) Melina Vassiliou (Surgery)

2015-2016

Simon Bergman (Surgery) Elaine Doucette (Nursing) Lily Ha-Nam P. Nguyen (Otolaryngology) Pramod S. Puligandla (Pediatric Surgery) Charo Rodriguez (Family Medicine) Suzanne Rouleau (*Physical & Occupational Therapy*)
Christina Wolfson (*Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health*)

2014-2015

Gillian Bartlett-Esquilant (Family Medicine) Farhan Bhanji (Pediatrics) Isabelle Gagnon (Physical & Occupational Therapy)

2013-2014

Richard Gosselin (Pediatrics) Terry Hébert (Pharmacology & Therapeutics) Susanne Mak (Physical & Occupational Therapy) Madhukar Pai (Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health) Vicky Tagalakis (Medicine)

2012-2013

Evelyn Constantin (Pediatrics) Paola Fata (Surgery) Thomas Hutchinson (Medicine) Preetha Krishnamoorthy (Pediatrics) Aliki Thomas (Physical & Occupational Therapy)

2011-2012

Nicola Casacalenda (Psychiatry) Sam Daniel (Otolaryngology) Michelle Elizov (Medicine) Srinivasan Krishnamurthy (Obstetrics & Gynecology)
Laurie Plotnick (Pediatrics) Margaret Purden (Nursing)

2010-2011

Thomas Maniatis (Medicine) Jeffrey Minuk (Neurology & Neurosurgery) Robert Primavesi (Family Medicine & Pediatrics) Gilles Thériault (Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health)

2009-2010

Renzo Cecere (Surgery) Kenneth Doyle (Medicine) Lucy Gilbert (Obstetrics & Gynecology) Roland Grad (Family Medicine) Nancy Mayo (Physical & Occupational Therapy) Hema Patel (Pediatrics) Celia Rodd (Pediatrics) Jeffrey Wiseman (Medicine)

2008 - 2009

Ronald Fraser (Psychiatry) Nicol Korner-Bitensky (Physical & Occupational Therapy)
Kevin Lachapelle (Surgery & Steinberg Centre for Simulation and Interactive Learning) Marc McKee (Anatomy & Cell Biology)
Louise Pilote (Medicine)

2007 - 2008

Nicole Beauchemin (Biochemistry & Goodman Cancer Research Centre) Donald Boudreau (Medicine) Philip Gordon (Surgery) Ronald Gottesman (Pediatrics) Lisa Graves (Family Medicine) Saleem Razack (Pediatrics)

2006 - 2007 Manon Auger (*Pathology*) Miguel Burnier (Ophthalmology) Eddy Lang (Family Medicine) Carmen Loiselle (Nursing) April Shamy (Medicine) Kenneth Shaw (Surgery) George Shenouda (Oncology)

2005 - 2006

Eugene Bereza (Family Medicine & Biomedical Ethics Unit) Laeora Berkson (Medicine) Franco Carnevale (Nursing) David Fleiszer (Surgery)

Dusica Maysinger (Pharmacology & Therapeutics)

Sarkis Meterissian (Surgery)

Suzanne Morin (Medicine)

2004 - 2005

Chantal Bernard (Pathology) Paul Clarke (Pharmacology & Therapeutics) Gerald Fried (Surgery) Mimi Israel (Psychiatry) Lawrence Joseph (Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health) Susan Kahn (Medicine) Robert Kinch (Obstetrics & Gynecology) Carlos Morales (Anatomy & Cell Biology)

2003 - 2004

Aurore Côté (Pediatrics) James Hanley (Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health) Lynn McLauchlin (Family Medicine) René Michel (Pathology) Elizabeth O'Brien (Medicine) Joyce Pickering (Medicine) Bernard Unikowsky (Medicine)

2002 - 2003

Michel Aubé (Neurology & Neurosurgery)
Jean-François Boivin (Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health) Barbara Hales (*Pharmacology & Therapeutics*) Ronald Onerheim (*Pathology*) Bernard Unger (Family Medicine)

2001 - 2002

Miriam Boillat (Family Medicine) Colin Chalk (Neurology & Neurosurgery) Mark Featherstone (Oncology) Richard Fraser (Pathology) Stuart Glaser (Family Medicine) Phil Gold (Medicine) Ervin Podgorsak (Oncology) Linda Snell (Medicine) Moshe Szyf (Pharmacology & Therapeutics) Ted Tewfik (Otolaryngology)

